Welcome to Shortgrass Library System

Shortgrass (Shorty) Awards

The annual Shortgrass (Shorty) Awards recognize excellence in public library services around our region, with a focus on libraries and staff who have demonstrated outstanding effort, creativity, and dedication to their patrons and communities.

Specific award categories from previous years have included the following:

  • Innovation: Best New library program
  • Community Outreach
  • Advocacy
  • Innovative use of Technology
  • Public Relations
  • Partnerships

Nominations are typically solicited each fall and awards distributed at the annual Shortgrass Christmas Dinner & Social Event.

Award winners from previous years are listed below.

2019 Outstanding Service

Kathryn Van Dorp 

Susan Andersen Library

2019 Library Manager of the Year

Joan Côté

Irvine Community Library

2019 Innovative Partnership

Library Month Campaign

Brooks Public Library

2019 Excellence in Community Engagement  

Methanex Library Card Sign-up Day

Medicine Hat Public Library

2019 Best New Program

Bike Lending Program

Redcliff Public Library

2019 Best Program Promotion

Story Walk: The Gruffalo

Graham Community Library

2018 Excellence in Advocacy

Catharine Richardson

Redcliff Public Library Board

 2018 Innovative Partnerships

Rural Mental Health Initiative

Brooks Public Library

 2018 Best New Program

Katherine Rankin

Redcliff Public Library Board


2018 Innovative Fundraiser

Trivia Night

Susan Andersen Library

2018 Library Manager of the Year

Daryl Kimura

Duchess & District Public Library


2018 Staff Member of the Year

Kristina Thomas

Graham Public Library


2018 Program of the Year

Mark Sakamoto Program

Medicine Hat Public Library